Thankful

I spent five days in the hospital from last week until earlier this week. But this is not the point or focus of this post. I have to thank the EMT persons who went above and beyond.

We all perhaps can remember, when knowing someone’s telephone number was either in our mind or written near the home phone. Remember the little black book? At one time we did not have these cell/smart phones. I am sad to say I myself have allowed electronics to take away my ability to remember. I can not even recall my loved ones phone numbers. Anytime I need to convey or write it I have to refer to that glorious device. So yes, how sad for us all. Especially me.

Once again my point. After being taken via ambulance by EMT personnel to the hospital, going through admittance and getting into a room. It the fog of my condition, maybe even under the influence of whatever medication they forced into my veins, I asked for my phone. Seems it was not either with me or “lost” as told to me by a nurse. How could that be? I am usually sure to place it in my pocket.

So the entire time I was hospitalized, I had no way to let anyone know where I was. My kids, who are grown, I found later had called and texted me on fathers day. My daughter even came to my home on that day. She thought that I had to work. Doing some housework for me, leaving me a wonderful Fathers Day card on the table and departing home she had no clue where I was. For her, it was not unusual for me to be off to some destination.

When I finally was discharged, took a cab home, and looked for my phone, I could not locate it. But I did have another cell phone. Sad, once again, it did not have anyone’s number in it that I wanted to call or text. One person did call my home phone and leave a few voice messages. (OH MY!) So at least I was able to text the one. However, from the content of the left messages I saw no reason to share my whereabouts.

So I am thankful. The EMT whom transported me to the hospital, at the end of their shift, found my phone. Now after a day of doing what they do best they had no idea of who’s phone this was. The lady, tried to look, and being my phone was locked could not find a way to call someone to say I have this phone. She went above and beyond and took it to a Verizon store (my carrier) and turned it in. It took some doing but the employee at the store, found it was mine and mailed it back to me. THANKS! So today I got my phone back.

In a past blog post I wrote about the way we now store passwords and other virtual information today. I once again have learned a new lesson. Write the phone numbers down for the people you may need to call. You never know when you may not have that cell phone.

Published by

Wade Lancaster

I could tell you more about me. However, I think you will find us far more interesting, if we share more about ourselves. What do you say?

8 thoughts on “Thankful”

  1. Glad to know you are doing well. And you have shared a useful information. I tend to remember the phone number of my immediate family members. But saying that this is true that we have become a slave of technology.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope you are doing well now. Such a valuable message you have delivered through your post- it is so true how much we rely on our phones these days.

    Liked by 1 person

Come On! You know you have something to say.

