4 things authors should consider concerning unlikeable characters

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

1148655_vintage_fountain_pen_3What makes an unlikeable character unlikeable? Especially a main character? Why should we authors care?

I’m taking a brief break from preparing my second edition of the Herezoth trilogy to reread the twenty pages or so I’ve written of a prequel, which focuses on a character who’s a pretty miserable human being. She’s kind of petty and self-centered, and makes a huge mistake at the start of the book out of fear and a desire for revenge.

In this character’s case–her name is Verony–what makes her unlikeable is fairly obvious. It’s her attitude to life and the way she focuses entirely on herself, at least at the start of things. I can’t wait to see her grow and change as I get to work more on this story. I have no idea what will end up happening to her or what role she might take in supporting or opposing a…

View original post 422 more words

Published by

Wade Lancaster

I could tell you more about me. However, I think you will find us far more interesting, if we share more about ourselves. What do you say?

Come On! You know you have something to say.

